The dunking tradition at Druckhaus Götz

“TAKE HOLD! PLACE HIS CORPUS POSTERIUS ON THIS WET SPONGE, TILL HIS BEHIND IS DRIPPING AND THOROUGHLY SOAKED. GIVE THIS THIRSTY SOUL A THOROUGH DUNKING. WHAT BETTER BAPTISM COULD A CHILD OF GUTENBERG ASPIRE TO?“

During the dunking ritual, a printer’s tradition which can be traced back to the 16th century, the apprentices who passed their exams are completely immersed in a tub filled with water or placed on a wet sponge.

Even today the apprentices still get wet during the dunking ritual. However, not only does the apprentice to be inducted get wet but often also the aides, the sponge holder and the spectators. Of course, the apprentices will not be given the exact date of the dunking ceremony. If they succeed in escaping from the aides and thus from dunking, they do not have to pay for the dunking celebration themselves. After the cheerful ceremony they will receive their initiation certificate which confirms the apprentice’s induction as followers of Gutenberg.
At Druckhaus Götz, this tradition is still cultivated today, most recently in the spring 2011!

Gautsch-Tradition im Druckhaus Götz

„PAKKT AN! LASST SEINEN CORPUS POSTERIORUM FALLEN AUF DIESEN NASSEN SCHWAMM, BIS TRIEFEN BEIDE BALLEN. DER DURSTGEN SEELE GEBT EIN STURTZBAD OBEN-DRAUFF! DAS IST DEM SOHNE GUTENBERGS DIE BESTE TAUFF.“

Beim Gautschen, einem Buchdruckerbrauch, der sich bis ins 16. Jahrhundert zurückverfolgen lässt, werden Lehrlinge nach bestandener Abschlussprüfung in einer mit Wasser gefüllten Wanne untergetaucht oder auf einen nassen Schwamm gesetzt.

Nass geht es auch heute noch zu, wenn gegautscht wird. Aber nicht nur der Täufling wird nass, sondern oft auch die Packer, der Schwammhalter und die Zuschauer. Natürlich wird den Lehrlingen nicht mitgeteilt, wann genau sie gegautscht werden. Gelingt es ihnen nämlich, den Packern und somit dem Gautschen zu entfliehen, müssen sie das folgende Gautschfest nicht selbst bezahlen. Nach der fröhlichen Zeremonie erhalten sie ihren Gautschbrief, der die Taufe zum Jünger Gutenbergs bestätigt.

Im Druckhaus Götz wird diese Tradition auch im 21. Jahrhundert gepflegt, zuletzt im Frühjahr 2011!